Council Elections

Local Government Ordinary Elections are held on the third Saturday in October, every two years. The next Local Government ordinary elections will be held on Saturday 16th October 2021.

The 2021 election for the Shire of Brookton will be conducted as a postal election, with a Returning Officer appointment by the WA Electoral Commission. 

Three (3) positions will be contested at this elected. Current Councillors whose term is due to expire on 16th October 2021 are: 

  • Councillor Katrina Crute (Shire President) 
  • Councillor Theresa Fancote
  • Councillor Barry Watts

Are you eligible to Vote?

If you live, or own rateable property, within the Shire of Brookton, and meet the relevant eligibility criteria, then you are entitled to vote at Council elections. However, in order to do so, you must be enrolled on either the State Electoral Roll for an address within the Shire, or on the Shire's Owners and Occupiers Roll. 

If you are enrolled on the State electoral roll, and you are listed as living at an address within the Shire of Brookton, they you are automatically included on the local government electoral roll for the Shire. 

However, if you are an owner, or occupier of property within the Shire of Brookton, but you are enrolled on the State Roll at an address outside of the Shire, or are not currently listed on any electoral roll, but meet the eligibility criteria, then you must apply for inclusion on the Shire's Owners and Occupiers Roll. 

You can check you enrolment details by visiting the WA Electoral Commission's website

Please contact the Shire's Rates Department (08) 9642 1106, or by emailing

Councillors are elected for terms of four years in Western Australia. Elections are held every two years for half of the Council, and candidates are elected using the first-past-the-post voting system. If a vacancy occurs within a term, an extraordinary election is held.

Nominating for Council

Electors who wish to nominate as a candidate, in a local government election, must complete a valid nomination application, and present it to the Returning Officer before nominations close. Prior to nominating, all candidates must complete the online candidate induction from the Department of Local Government, Sport & Cultural Industries website.

Nominations for a local government election open 44 days before polling day, and close at 4.00 pm, 37 days before polling day. Use the Commission’s Nomination Builder to electronically complete the nomination form and candidate profile.

Please refer to the Western Australian Electoral Commission's website for further information. 


Voting is voluntary in Local Government elections in Western Australia. However, all electors are strongly encouraged to vote.

The Electoral Commissioner is responsible for conducting all local government postal elections in Western Australia and can also conduct voting in person elections on request under the Local Government Act 1995. By making the Electoral Commissioner responsible for these elections, the local governments concerned ensure that elections are conducted independently and with impartiality.

Postal elections are more convenient for many electors and typically result in a higher rate of voter participation than in person ballots.

If the number of candidates is equal to the number of vacancies, the candidate is elected unopposed. If there are more candidates than vacancies, the election will proceed.

For postal elections, all eligible electors will receive a postal voting package around three weeks prior to polling day. The package will include a list of candidates, ballot papers, instructions on how to vote and a declaration. To vote, follow the instructions included in the package.

The Returning Officer must receive your postal voting package before 6.00 pm on polling day. If you do not think that your postal voting package can be returned by post in time, you can deliver it by hand to a polling official.